A good designer… what makes one?

Insightful post on communication in graphic design

zenncreativenc

As I have been going through the process of a possible move and adding to my career level, I have had to look at myself differently. Why? Well, for the past 7 years I have owned my own business and have done what I do best – quality work with more one-on-one communication. I haven’t had to stop and answer why I chose graphic design and what makes me successful in it.  In filling out applications and refining my resume I found myself asking “what makes a good graphic designer?” I can tell you it is not someone who can make something “pretty,” in fact that phrase makes my skin crawl.

Here’s the deal: As I see it, you have to be a communicator first, then a designer. You have to be able to open think and express ideals, be part of a clients environment and realize that you are…

View original post 178 more words

Leave a Reply

