it happend….The dry spot in a vast freelance oceon

Ok so it happend the dreaded dry spot…. for the past two weeks I have had client heaven with lots of reply and now my phone is silent and my inbox is empty…. whats happened? I haven’t changed my advert nothing is different so whats going on?

I’ve decided to start on local advertising I’ve been following steps on one of the books I had a my previous post a chapter called “self promotion” so basically I’ve been going to all local shops the post office ect and posting and posting advertisements to see if I can attract some local business which would be ideal. I also have plans to put an advert In a local newspaper.

I know I must look desperate from the state of my featured image and the stench it probably gives off but I do actually have one client at the moment and a few I am still waiting for them to get back to me with payments for to go ahead, and besides If I didn’t document this then people might think wow shes getting loads of work how impressive but thats not what I want to do. I want to paint a picture for prospective freelancer’s so they know what they are getting themself in for think of it as an experiment if you will use my story to help yourself.

on the plus side I have done abit of cold calling and pushing from a few clients, I have in the loop and hopefully I might have set myself up with a company freelance job. Which would really help me get a bit more consistant income and although I’m already working I yern for the steady income that an inhouse designer would be earning and I know that I should just hold off and try to achieve my dream but when I’m stuck in one bedroom with the partner and a cat sharing a house with 7 other people its only a matter of time before I crack which I do not want to do. I love my current job and I want to commit to this even if full time jobs are knocking at my door and I have to be honest I am hanging my nose over them. although house hunting is allways abit fun 🙂

3 thoughts on “it happend….The dry spot in a vast freelance oceon

  1. Consider your dry spot a secluded island, grab a margarita, relax and enjoy the peace and quiet for a bit and then once you feel rejuvenated jump back in the boat and row like crazy. Sometimes we all need a breather between jobs, self-promoting and getting through the demands we put on ourselves every day. 🙂

    Like

  2. Haha powerful images there I like it. I don’t suppose your planning on doing a blog post on self promotion any time soon would be a great help! I’m looking for inspiring ways to get the word out if you will.

    Like

  3. Normally I do not learn post on blogs, however I wish to say that this write-up very pressured me to try and do it!
    Your writing taste has been surprised me.
    Thanks, quite great article.

    Like

Leave a Reply

